Half-way through the project – France

IMG_20150217_020450152

Already a half-way through my project ‘France Again,’ in an attempt to learn the French language my way.
I did make some preliminary plans, but almost none of them has materialised. Having said that, unplanned events unfolded and, so far, I can say it’s going well.

There are discussions about the English education in Japan being not quite up to the mark in the sense that, for all the children and students who ‘accomplished’ it, still not many come out with practical skills and the sense of the language that would make them at ease when they go crossing the oceans. From my own experience, too, language acquisition in this sense would be a mirage unless there is a (more or less) clear sense of purpose. Education policies in Japan have been everywhere, recent attempts including the introduction of English classes at schools to be conducted entirely in English… (the government is hard at it in view of the coming international honour of hosting the 2020 Games), but it’s doubtful that the result would be very different from the past ‘cramming’ or (I just looked it up on the Internet and found this absurd phrase) ‘the education with breathing space system’…

That being said, my project this time, I realise, didn’t really have a concrete sense of purpose either – just wanted to learn French in life.

Fortunately, though, I have been blessed with fabulous encounters, and it gives me the reason for wanting to understand what would otherwise be a chain of meaningless sounds, as well as wanting to convey what’s in my mind in the language my company understands. A great incentive is in my volition to communicate.

Remembering how it was when I was still learning English, I know there’s still a long way to go in French…

About Dr Kats

a working sociologist/linguist/translator based in Odawara, Japan
This entry was posted in English entries, Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

