moving on…

I wonder how much anyone should be held accountable for the life he or she leads… becaues sometimes things just happen. Only occasionally, we may be tempted to decide what happens in our own lives, and that’s when it suddenly becomes scarey.

Anyhow, I haven’t been an enthusiastic blogger at all. I don’t think I will ever be. But sometimes, it is good to leave a trace of what I happened to be at one particular moment of my life.

Now, here’s something to keep a record of. I am steering my own life into a direction I hadn’t foreseen several years ago. It is known as “datsu-sara” in Japanese, apparently, going self-employed. I don’t know yet the extent of the blow I am about to take. But I expect there will be more things to update on my blog in the future than there were in the last 5 years…

So far, I spent the first of the four stages of career change experience – the state of bimbo. Before my resignation was accepted and confirmd, I was trying very hard not to yield to the force of dissuasion. Now that I have only a week before becoming unemployed, and staying most of the time away from work – using up my paid leave – I find this state most unsettling; one step not in a grave but in an unemployment and uncertain future… But at the same time, recurring thoughts of what my future may hold excite me.

Quite a few things I would like to do while I have the time. The question is, will I do it? Damn!

What are the other three stages? I shall find out in due course…

About Dr Kats

a working sociologist/linguist/translator based in Odawara, Japan
This entry was posted in English entries, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

