Prayer for people of Turkey

This morning news took me by surprise, that an earthquake of a devastating magnitude struck Turkey. My thoughts immediately went to my best friend and his family, though I knew he lived outside the country, and though I soon leaned that the epicenter was far away from his parents’ town.

The news on TV showed a scene of the catastrophe in which young and old struggle to help others amid prevailing hysteria and confusion. It is only natural that I immediately revisited my own experience back in March as well as in 1996, and for many Japanese people the news must have had the similar impact as it had on me.

I pray for all Turkey and its people so that they will find strength to endure and overcome whatever sorrow and dismay. I don’t know if this event requires the nation’s solidarity, but as this year has seen so many large-scale earthquakes and their consequences, I cannot help but wish them to be a strong, united nation. I believe that the destruction will be consoled by new, and better development to follow.

About Dr Kats

a working sociologist/linguist/translator based in Odawara, Japan
This entry was posted in English entries, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

