UPDATE

It’s been crazy since the beginning of this year, chasing the deadline for the submission of thesis. Other things happened, messing with my writing. But finally, things falling into a place.
 
I’ve been struggling with my writing trying to get the draft done before the summer. Now, the draft is up, and handed in for the final commentary from my supervisor. I’ve no idea how well it’s come out. I just have to wait and see what he’s got to say.
 
Now the draft is there, the remaining thing to do regarding my thesis is to finalise the details like bibliography, appendices and so on. I need to begin thinking about either publishing or writing a paper for journals. I keep putting it off and in the meantime I enjoy the momentary tranquility in everyday life, not so much time bothering my brain with thoughts on the topic of healthcare choice…
 
The summer is here, well, it’s been with us for a while now. We’ve had a few weeks’ heat-wave and enjoyed so much sunshine and dry days. My garden desperately needs watering, every day, and the ban on the use of hose means I have to do it with a watering jag – joro in Japanese. I tend to skip it, and only when I see my hydrangers in front of the house wilting do I rush to my joro and hope the flower will revive. Not a very good gardener.
 
The Proms are under way. This is one of the things I would love to go see, but never have managed to get round to doing it so far. This year, maybe… I need a good company to go with.
 
So all in all, my study is making a steady progress and the end-day seems to be on horizon. For the time being, I’m thinking about the ways to enjoy the remaining of the summer…
 
oh, and I intend to keep this diary going more frequently.
About Dr Kats

a working sociologist/linguist/translator based in Odawara, Japan
This entry was posted in English entries. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

